Rocky Mountain Brewing News February/March 2012 : Page 2

Rocky Mountain Brewing News Feb./March 2012 Vol. 10, No. 1 Publisher BILL METZGER bill@brewingnews.com Editor Amy Moses amy.moses@brewingnews.com State Correspondents Colorado: Denver -Jim "Doc" Damon doc.damon@brewingnews.com Central Peaks -Jim Mitchell jim.mitchell@brewingnews.com Western Slope -Stevie Caldarola stevie.caldarola@brewingnews.com Four Corners -Bill Downs bill.downs@brewingnews.com Lower Front Range -Stephen Millin stephenmillin@brewingnews.com Upper Front Range -Amy Moses amy.moses@brewingnews.com Idaho -John Campbell john.campbell@brewingnews.com Montana -George Ochenski georgeo@brewingnews.com Utah -Dave Tille dave.tille@brewingnews.com Wyoming -Tim Harland timh@brewingnews.com Columns Art of Homebrewing -James Denier Beer Round-Up -Rick Lyke Webmeister Jamie Magee jamie@brewingnews.com Layout/Map Design Dina Meyer dina@brewingnews.com Retailer of the Year 2005 -2009 WineMaker International Amateur Wine Competition Proud Sponsor of the Indiana State Fair Brewers Cup Notify us of your festival, beer dinner, tapping or other event at http://www.brewingnews.com/submitevent.html Organizers: Next Print calendar covers April through June. Contact us by March 10. Sign up for our Hop Tips email! http://www.brewingnews.com/hoptips February 4 Great Northern Brewery’s 17th Anniversary Party and the Black Star Barter , Whitefi sh, Mont. blackstarbeer.com February 4 Chocolate Treasure Hunt, Arvada Brewing Company, Arvada, Colo. 303.467.BEER February 11 Ante Up for a Cure Poker Bike Ride/Run with the Fort Collins Breweries , benefi ts Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, Fort Collins, Colo. 319.269.6576 February 11 Barrel Aged Series Release , Avery Tap Room, Boulder, Colo. 4:00 p.m. averybrewing.com February 11 Hear Ʃ hrob 5K Run , Arvada Brewing Company, Arvada, Colo. 10:00 a.m. 303.467.BEER February 14 Beer Lover’s Dinner , West End Tavern, Boulder, Colo. averybrewing.com February 18 8th Annual Firkin Rendezvous , Bristol Brewing, Colorado Springs, Colo. 719.633.2555 February 21 Mardi Gras Madness , Snake River Brewing, Jackson Hole, Wyo. snakeriverbewing.com February 25 Beerdrinker of the Year Na Ɵ onal Finals , Denver, Colo. 303.297.2700 February Large supply of Wine and Beer Kits ~ Quality Products ~ Expert Advice ~ FAST Shipping ~ FREE Catalog Retail: 108 S. Elkhart Ave Phone: 574-295-9975 Office: 530 E. Lexington Ave Suite 115 Elkhart, IN 46516 March 2-3 Mazer Cup Interna Ɵ onal Mead Compe Ɵ Ɵ on , Boulder, Colo. mazercup.com March 3 Winter Brewfest , Whitefi sh, Mont. skiwhite fi sh.com March 9-10 Strong Ale Fest , Avery Brewing, Boulder, Colo. 303.440.4324 March 17 St. Patrick’s Day Party , Quarry Brewing, Butte, Mont. wedigbeer.com March 17 St. Patrick’s Day Gala , Snake River Brewing, Jackson Hole, Wyo. snakeriverbrewing.com March www.HomeBrewIt.com Opening a Brewery ... 3 Liquid Poet ............... 3 Homebrew ............... 7 Beer Directory ....10-12 Beer Roundup ......... 15 Rocky Mountain Brewing News is published bi-monthly, on recycled paper. At least 20,000 copies are distributed in breweries, brew on premises, homebrew supply shops & high variety beer bars and stores throughout the Rocky Mountain region. All material © 2012 by Rocky Mountain Brewing News unless otherwise noted. Montana ................. Idaho ...................... Utah ....................... Wyoming ................ 4 5 6 8 ADVERTISING OFFICE PHONE 1-800-474-7291 Fax 1-888-665-5007 Next Issue Advertising Deadline: Western Slope ........... 9 Upper Front Range .. 13 Central Peaks .......... 14 Four Corners ........... 15 Denver ..................... 16 Lower Front Range ... 18 Colorado March 7 (800) 474 -7291

Calendar Of Events

February

February 4 Great Northern Brewery’s 17th Anniversary Party and the Black Star Barter, Whitefi sh, Mont. blackstarbeer.com

February 4 Chocolate Treasure Hunt, Arvada Brewing Company, Arvada, Colo. 303.467.BEER

February 11 Ante Up for a Cure Poker Bike Ride/Run with the Fort Collins Breweries, benefi ts Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, Fort Collins, Colo. 319.269.6576

February 11 Barrel Aged Series Release, Avery Tap Room, Boulder, Colo. 4:00 p.m. averybrewing.com

February 11 Hear.. hrob 5K Run, Arvada Brewing Company, Arvada, Colo. 10:00 a.m. 303.467.BEER

February 14 Beer Lover’s Dinner, West End Tavern, Boulder, Colo. averybrewing.com

February 18 8th Annual Firkin Rendezvous, Bristol Brewing, Colorado Springs, Colo. 719.633.2555

February 21 Mardi Gras Madness, Snake River Brewing, Jackson Hole, Wyo. snakeriverbewing.com

February 25 Beerdrinker of the Year Na.. onal Finals, Denver, Colo. 303.297.2700

March

March 2-3 Mazer Cup Interna.. onal Mead Compe.. .. on, Boulder, Colo. mazercup.com

March 3 Winter Brewfest, Whitefi sh, Mont. skiwhitefi sh.com

March 9-10 Strong Ale Fest, Avery Brewing, Boulder, Colo. 303.440.4324

March 17 St. Patrick’s Day Party, Quarry Brewing, Butte, Mont. wedigbeer.com

March 17 St. Patrick’s Day Gala, Snake River Brewing, Jackson Hole, Wyo. snakeriverbrewing.com.

Read the full article at http://rmbnonline.brewingnews.com/article/Calendar+Of+Events/966795/99225/article.html.

Quality Wine And Ale Supply, LLC

Using a screen reader? Click Here